DC vs MI IPL 2023 Winning Team, Highlights, Players, and Results

DC vs MI:- The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 saw another thrilling encounter between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Mumbai Indians (MI) on 11th April 2023. The match was held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and had fans on the edge of their seats. In the end, it was Mumbai Indians who emerged victorious, opening their account for the season with a six-wicket win against Delhi Capitals.

First Innings Highlights

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to bat first. Their innings got off to a solid start, with openers Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw putting up a 50-run partnership. However, MI’s bowling attack put on an impressive show and restricted DC to a score of 153/7 in their 20 overs. The highlight of the innings was Marcus Stoinis’ unbeaten knock of 42 off 25 balls.

MI’s bowling performance was led by Jasprit Bumrah, who took two wickets in his four overs, conceding only 21 runs. He was ably supported by Trent Boult and Rahul Chahar, who took two wickets each.

Second Innings Highlights

In reply, MI got off to a slow start, with captain Rohit Sharma falling early for just six runs. However, Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan steadied the innings with a 72-run partnership. Kishan was the top scorer for MI, with a knock of 48 off 30 balls, while Yadav contributed 37 runs off 27 balls.

DC vs MI highlight

DC’s bowlers put up a spirited performance, but MI’s batsmen proved too strong in the end, with the team chasing down the target of 154 with two overs to spare.

Player Performances

For DC, Marcus Stoinis was the standout performer with his unbeaten knock of 42 off 25 balls. Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw also contributed with scores of 28 and 21 runs, respectively.

In MI’s innings, Ishan Kishan was the top scorer with 48 runs off 30 balls. Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya also made valuable contributions with scores of 37 and 21 runs, respectively.

Post-match reactions – DC vs MI

After the match, both captains expressed their thoughts on the game. “It was a great win for us, and I am proud of the way the team played,” said MI captain Rohit Sharma. DC captain Rishabh Pant, on the other hand, rued the missed opportunities in the field. “We need to work on our fielding, we missed a few catches which could have made a difference,” he said.

Bowling Performance

Mumbai’s bowlers put in a brilliant performance as they restricted Delhi Capitals to a below-par score of 172 runs. Jason Behrendorff was the pick of the bowlers for MI as he picked up three wickets for just 28 runs in his four overs. Piyush Chawla also bowled well, picking up two wickets for 28 runs in his four overs.

Delhi’s bowlers, on the other hand, could not defend the target of 173 runs. Avesh Khan picked up two wickets for 26 runs in his four overs, but the rest of the bowlers failed to make an impact.

DC vs MI – Player of the Match

Suryakumar Yadav was adjudged the player of the match for his brilliant innings of 62 runs off 39 balls, which included six boundaries and two sixes.

The History of Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Capitals franchise was originally known as the Delhi Daredevils when it was first launched in 2008. The team initially had a promising start, making it to the semi-finals in the inaugural season. However, their performances in subsequent seasons were inconsistent, and they finished at the bottom of the table on multiple occasions. In 2019, the team underwent a rebranding exercise and was renamed the Delhi Capitals. Since then, the team has shown remarkable improvement, finishing third in the league in 2019 and runners-up in 2020.

Ownership and Coaching Staff

The Delhi Capitals are owned by two business conglomerates, the GMR Group and the JSW Group. The GMR Group is an infrastructure company with interests in airports, highways, and energy, while the JSW Group is a conglomerate with interests in steel, energy, infrastructure, cement, and more. The team’s head coach is the legendary Australian cricketer Ricky Ponting, who has been instrumental in the team’s recent success.

Current Squad

The Delhi Capitals have a strong squad that comprises a mix of experienced and young players. The current captain of the team is the Australian batsman David Warner. Other notable players in the squad include the South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada, the Indian opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan, and the Indian wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant. The team also has a number of talented young players, including the Indian all-rounder Axar Patel and the Nepalese leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane.

History of the Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians were founded in 2008 as one of the original eight franchises in the IPL. The team is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, and is led by one of India’s most successful cricketers, Rohit Sharma.

The Mumbai Indians had a slow start in the IPL, failing to qualify for the playoffs in the first two seasons. However, the team turned things around in 2010 when they won their first IPL title. They repeated this success in 2011 and then won again in 2013. The team’s fourth IPL title came in 2017, and they won their fifth title in 2019, becoming the first team to win the tournament in back-to-back seasons.

Squad for MI IPL 2023

The Mumbai Indians have a strong squad for the 2023 season, featuring some of the world’s best players. Let’s take a look at some of the key players on the team:


  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Chris Lynn
  • Anmolpreet Singh


  • Quinton de Kock
  • Ishan Kishan


  • Kieron Pollard
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Krunal Pandya


  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Trent Boult
  • Rahul Chahar

The Mumbai Indians have a well-balanced squad, with strong batting, bowling, and all-round capabilities.

Achievements of the Mumbai Indians

As mentioned earlier, the Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in IPL history, having won the tournament a record five times. Let’s take a closer look at the team’s achievements:

IPL Titles

  • 2013
  • 2015
  • 2017
  • 2019
  • 2020

Champions League T20 Titles

  • 2011
  • 2013

Other Achievements

  • The Mumbai Indians have the highest win percentage of any team in the IPL.
  • Rohit Sharma is the highest run-scorer in the history of the Mumbai Indians, with over 5,000 runs to his name.
  • Jasprit Bumrah is the highest wicket-taker in the history of the Mumbai Indians, with over 100 wickets to his name.


The match of DC vs MI turned out to be a thrilling contest, with both teams giving their best on the field. Mumbai Indians emerged victorious in the end, thanks to the brilliant batting performance of Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan. Delhi Capitals, on the other hand, will have to regroup and work on their weaknesses before their next match.

With a trail of successful startups and a notable career, Sagar Kashyap has established himself as an accomplished media company founder. He possesses expertise in search engine marketing (SEM) and digital marketing. Kashyap has honed his skills in these areas, implementing successful PPC campaigns and boosting website traffic for businesses

Leave a Comment